top of page

Constructive Method of Healing


First things first... I suppose it would be responsible to make sure I have a place to build this thing.


There are builders in areas with 4 seasons who build seasonally, under tarps and in sheds, only when temps are suitable to cure epoxy. Totally doable. But since I have the means (with some effort), and since my mental and emotional need is to do the building rather than wait to do the building, I'm making a 4-season space work.


24' is not a HUGE boat in the boating world, but for a home builder, it's considered a Big Boat. It will not fit in my 2-car garage; I mean... it WILL, diagonally, but there won't be adequate space for laydown area around it... and other things that actually need to be in there.


So, I'll be using what was to be my endeavored new woodworking shop. Pictured above is the state of it at the time of this writing. It will be well-insulated, well-lit, simple and effective. The town is aware that I'm building a carport. Once the siding is on and inspection is done, it's insulation, electrical, and boat-building time.


Suffice it to say she's "rolling over in her grave" right now. ( :'-) First time I've been able to make that joke). We had many means of adventuring together... motorcycle, car, plane and on foot... but she was not into having a boat. She told me so very frankly, and with a smile. I was never unhappy about that; we had many, many hobbies that satisfied our endeavors and owning a boat never allured me to a great degree. But now... man o man; I can't get this project out of my head. Sometimes I catch myself feeling guilty for going ahead with something she wasn't necessarily into doing. When I first entertained the idea of this project a couple of months ago, I couldn't get past that. But as time passes, I'm able to see... what would she be utterly supportive of? Me following ANY constructive method of healing.

bottom of page